Welcome to the land of change!

The big American dream!? I was hoping for a drastic turnover in life when I entered the United States of America….and there it was staring right back at me – Change!
As soon as I stepped out of the airport, the first thing I noticed were the roads….clean and no potholes but weird signs on the roads!(which now I think are way more easier to read than the signals hidden behind tress on Indian roads) The same night we went for dinner, after 30 hours of travel, one can’t gather enough strength to cook!! The restaurant was a bar not a restaurant, the funny thing I noticed was if they say they have grill and barbecue, that literally means they have grill and barbecue only, no other fancy stuff like curries or exotic rice….there is no choice…I mean how do the vegetarians survive? I thanked God I was not born a vegetarian! You can’t dream about options of Chinese, South Indian, Punjabi, Continental……like even if you go to a small, roadside hotel, you will still get the option of all the cuisines I mentioned above back in India!The tip part is also a little exaggerated! Now, if there is self service, why would I want to tip anyone!? The society/colony where I live feels like living in a bungalow where there is no one around for miles and miles. No one has the doors opened, there ain’t a doorstopper can’t be an excuse!No one talks to no one, except for smiling at complete strangers and wishing them, “Hey/Hi how are you?” I turn behind to see if there is someone standing who I didn’t notice!My mom taught me ‘never talk to strangers’!Basic manners like holding the door for someone who is trotting behind you was never a concern back home!My bad!Independence means I can do whatever I want…it’s my country, they are my country fellows! Here Independence means I need to watch what I say, I can’t urinate in public, I cannot spit or litter around,I cannot point fingers, I must respect privacy, I cannot cuddle unknown pets or children!
The gush of cold air made me want to slap myself for being overconfident. My father kept telling me to carry some thermal wear, but hey, I am the sweatiest of the lot remember, cold is good for me, no sweaty hands!I struggled to keep up with the cold! People keep saying, Texas has Pune weather….no need for warm clothes….oh really!? I am shivering!brrrr…..To top it all of, we have specific knowledge of seasons(forget the meteorological department which is always wrong with it’s predictions) chucking that, I know these 4 months I must carry an umbrella, these 3 months I must carry a pullover(we call it a sweater, oh and school taught us capsicum- don’t worry if they give you that stark look, it’s pepper here, red, yellow or green – I thought pepper was the round black thing….let’s not get into that)but unless you see the weather report on TV I suggest you should not step out with confidence…it’s so unpredictable, at one moment it will be cold, at another, it will start raining!!!
I thought we had the most notorious criminals, like the Sandalwood thief remember, but here the mafia can kill you for a petty 20 bucks! The birthplace of slang language. The negativity that I see on TV here, we are doing pretty well with Big Boss episodes!!! They advertise for a medicine, but list down all the side effects, psychologically, you won’t even want to touch the medicine anymore! They have so many reality TV shows with fights, bitching, cursing, drugs, sex that believe me Roadies is the best thing on TV for us! The best place for junk food and I can swear by it! Well, a little high a little low, adjusting to these changes is living and enjoying a different planet of the universe….America!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amruta
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 11:52:22

    great one poornima.. so, i hope that you are coping with your life there.. the pictures are really great and well placed and yea looking forward for some more updates on your experience there… take care n have fun.. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ravdeep Gill
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 11:58:35

    very well-written.. keep em coming.

    Reply

  3. Vinit
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 12:17:33

    Pretty much agree with your observations 😀
    yeah medicine side effect stuff is really hilarious, but I believe its due to huge suing cases 🙂 you will even notice a printed notice on starbucks cup “hot beverage inside”, because if they don’t one can sue them for huge amount 😀

    Hi/hello stuff to anyone is actually good, but hell your neighbour won’t even talk to you besides that hi/hello stuff, so somehow I feel its useless. Yeah I do loved it when some american babes say hi/hello though :P.

    They are much more disciplined but somehow I feel that they are too much bounded by rules and regulations, its like they are living mechanised life atleast in cities.

    Reply

  4. Adhish
    Jan 11, 2012 @ 15:13:12

    Your writing style is so lively so that we even can see the world by your words….
    You know punnu its happening with me also… When we step out from our comfort zone we started thinking about all the things more seriously… and writing such thoughts is best way to express it.

    Reply

    • poohalicious
      Jan 25, 2012 @ 07:41:32

      Thank you Adhish! 🙂 You know how I love writing! 😀 Just following my instincts…and yeah, m reading yours too!
      Thanks a lot Amruta… I will keep writing about stuff I find quirky! 😀 I hope you will keep reading.
      Thanks Vinit! Yup, I guess I saw that too! I think they are all just deprived of love!
      😀
      Thanks Ravdeep! 😀

      Reply

  5. march of dimes
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 01:20:31

    march of dimes
    I would like to thnkx for the efforts you have put in writing this web site. I’m hoping the same high-grade site post from you in the upcoming also. Actually your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own web site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings quickly. Your write up is a good example of it.

    Reply

    • poohalicious
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 21:48:10

      No way I mean, I have just started, I am not that good! But I am so happy I inspired you! This takes a lifetime for some people you know!thanks again. Keep reading.

      Reply

  6. sayali kulkarni
    Feb 08, 2012 @ 20:39:57

    heyyy! i found you here on wordpress! thats so great.. :))) when I read this post I was like OOHHH YESSS its SOOOO True!!! 😛 every word… More so coz I realized it the first week I arrived… 🙂
    love your writing style… your good spirits are contagious!
    also I m adding you to my blogroll…
    happy blogging!

    Reply

    • poohalicious
      Feb 08, 2012 @ 21:45:33

      Thank you Sayali! Yeah, you will notice many other things that would have made my post too long….hee hee! Thanks for adding me! I keep reading your posts too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Poohalicious on WordPress.com
