Sister – Another name for Best Friend!


“Sticks and stones are hard on bones Aimed with angry art, Words can sting like anything But silence breaks the heart.”
This line just makes me nostalgic, you may not be able to connect the dots or you may not find a harmony between the title and the post but its just something that provoked me to write….as sisters we have been very close from the beginning….except for a few times, when competitiveness took over and we felt a little jealous of each other when only one of us got praised or got some extra attention.

I did act as the ‘Wise One” and stole the credit for cleaning, doing chores most of the times. Being the younger one, she would obey my rules and I loved bossing around! While growing up we have had our episodes of fighting physically, but as far as I remember, it never really ended in a WWE showdown! Our fighting was like a war of Silence….we did not talk to each other…and my sister will agree to this that both of us had humungous egos (we did not even know the meaning of ego then) but I conquered mine most of the times to show her the white flag! But that was all as children…when silence did not mean much, when cursing was only limited to the names of animals and when making up was one tight hug!

Well, things were so easy back then, we just looked at each other and we knew if something good or bad has happened,we didn’t have to utter the word,Sorry, it just stood there on the lips, and still we never felt uncomfortable of having or not having to say it. We did not need explanations, conscience always confessed. That one small chuckle told us the joke and we’d laugh out loud in our hearts. We have always been on the same team when we or our parents had different views about our future. We would be partners in crime when we would come up with some prank!

©dianeduda/dudadaze

As we grew up, we encountered a lot of emotions, other than the hint of jealousy, which we did not know existed in this world. A sacrificing, ambitious, generous, loving soul. I keep learning new things about the self made, independent woman that she is today! I have no regrets at all about the arguments that we may have had because they have only brought us closer! The cover ups for me when I’d sneak out on dates!!The consoling she would do when carefree me would just forget or lose the house keys innumerable times!! The tough little battler she was when she would smell a rat or hear rumours about me! Her joy has been my joy, my pain has been her pain.Things still are the same….even if distance separates us…I am still the fragile one inside-out and she is the strong believer, the protagonist, the fighter, the survivor! She is someone who can never run out of words when you need her the most. She is like the pillow to absorb all your tears and let you rest your head when there is a whirlwind of thoughts! The only hiccup in my life is I have never really said it too many times and may be I never will, but I love her and respect her even if she is a younger sister to me.
Moral of the story is, Go on, tell the person who matters to you, break the silence, tell them how life would suck without them, even if they are close or far, they deserve to know it! If you are away or estranged from a loved there is nothing stopping you except you!

P.S : This is a special post dedicated for my sister on her birthday!! Happy Birthday darling!! I love you!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kirti Vishal Sarode
    May 23, 2012 @ 14:36:25

    wow this is so touching…i just went back to my childhood nd remembered all the fights nd those wonderful moments spent with my bro …very truly said..every time nd any time is the right time to let your loved one’s know abt ur feelings for them..EGO is an end to any relationship…

    Reply

  2. palasha
    May 23, 2012 @ 17:20:30

    Superbly worded and amazingly put down. Ur blog – Wow! No words to express. Love
    u both. I wish I had a sis like u n teju while I ws growing up.. I feel my childood has been so lonely !!

    Reply

  3. Bhushan..
    May 23, 2012 @ 19:41:56

    its a total replay for me….i went back in those days and could see you both doing all these things!!! nicely written 🙂 …keep writing…you can be our next chetan bhagat!! trust me some day we can publish books written by you 😉

    Reply

  4. pri1912
    Jul 29, 2012 @ 11:13:15

    awwwww…. I miss those childhood days… hugs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Poohalicious on WordPress.com
